AXIS: Journal of Lasallian Higher Education

Editorial Board

The editorial board for AXIS is responsible for working with the editor-in-chief and managing editor to ensure the quality and success of the journal. Responsibilities include, but are not limited to, advising the editor-in-chief and managing editor on journal policy and scope, assuring articles about issues of contemporary Lasallian interest demonstrate accurate understanding of Lasallian identity and mission, inviting new authors and submissions, identifying and proposing publications and presentations for inclusion in the journal, reviewing submission proposals, writing annotations of dissertations, and giving final approval for all content of each issue.

Brother William Mann, FSC, D.Min., Editor-in-Chief

Brother William Mann, FSC, serves as chair of the AXIS editorial board. During his time as president of Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota (2008-2018), he was heavily involved in supporting the development and growth of AXIS, support that he continued following his tenure at the university. Brother William served as president of the International Association of Lasallian Universities (2015-2018). He is also a former vicar general of the Brothers of the Christian Schools (2000-2007). Brother William holds a doctor of ministry degree from Colgate Rochester Divinity School.

Matt Nowakowski, MBA, Ed.D., Managing Editor

Matthew Nowakowski, MBA, Ed.D., serves as managing editor of AXIS. He is a retired professor from the Schools of Graduate and Professional Programs at Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. He previously served as vice provost for faculties and academic affairs, dean, Graduate School of Business and Technology, and program director, Doctor of Business Administration and Master of Business Administration. He received a doctoral degree in leadership from Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota and is a graduate of the Buttimer Institute of Lasallian Studies. During his retirement, he continues to serve as a dissertation advisor and course-contracted professor in Doctor of Education in Leadership program at Saint Mary’s University.

Roxanne Eubank, Ed.D.

Dr. Roxanne Eubank has served as Director of the Institute for Lasallian Studies and a faculty member in the Educational Leadership doctoral (Ed.D.) program at Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. She also led the annual two-week formation program specific to faculty and staff serving in Lasallian higher education ministries, the International Association of Lasallian Universities (IALU) at the Generalate in Rome. Dr. Eubank has contributed significantly to dialogues visioning Lasallian association into the future through her service in a number of roles at the District and Regional level, and through presentations at Huether Conferences and  the Buttimer Institute of Lasallian Studies.

Timothy Gossen, Ed.D.

Timothy Gossen, Ed.D., is senior director of admission at Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. He has served the university in a number of other roles, including vice president for mission, lead area coordinator residence life, director of residence life, and dean of students. Dr. Gossen holds a master’s in human development with a focus on student personnel and an Ed.D. in educational leadership, both from Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota.

Gregory T. Kopra, AFSC, Ed.D.

Greg Kopra, AFSC, Ed.D., has served the Lasallian mission since 1991 when he became a teacher at La Salle High School (now La Salle Catholic College Preparatory). He later moved into District leadership, where he served as director of formation for mission for the District of San Francisco New Orleans until his retirement in 2022. He holds an Ed.D. in Catholic Educational Leadership from the University of San Francisco.

Alisa Macksey, Ed.D. Candidate

Alisa Macksey, Ed.D. Candidate, serves as vice president of mission, diversity, and inclusion at La Salle University in Philadelphia. Prior to joining La Salle in 2022, Macksey had served at Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota since 2015 in a number of roles, including as dean of student success and the First Generation Initiative. She also served on the International Council for Association and the Lasallian Educational Mission (CIAMEL) for the Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools from 2015-2013, becoming chair in 2016. Macksey holds a master’s degree in organizational leadership from Gonzaga University and is working on her Ed.D. in educational leadership at Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota.

Brother Frederick Charles Mueller, FSC, Ed.D.

A Brother for more than 50 years, Brother Frederick has been a teacher and administrator in elementary schools, high schools, and post-secondary institutions. He has taught court-adjudicated youth and served as assistant superintendent of schools for the Diocese of Providence. He has also held positions of leadership at the District, Regional, and Institute levels. Brother Frederick served on the design teams and faculty for both the Buttimer Institute of Lasallian Studies and the former Lasallian Leadership Institute, both Regional formation programs. He has published monographs and articles and has lectured extensively on a variety of Lasallian topics.

Brother Robert Schieler, FSC, Ed.D.

Brother Robert Schieler, FSC, Ed.D., served as Superior General of the Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools from 2014-2022. Prior to that, he served for seven years as General Councilor for the Lasallian Region of North America (2007-2014), following his service as Visitor of the former Baltimore District, director of education for the former United States-Toronto Region, and several other Regional and District leadership roles. He is a graduate of La Salle College (now University) in Philadelphia, and he holds a master’s degree in European history from Notre Dame and a doctorate in educational administration from the University of Pennsylvania.

Brother Robert Smith, FSC, Ph.D.

Brother Robert J. Smith, FSC, Ph.D., serves as Senior Vice President for University Initiatives, Special Advisor to the President, and Executive Director of the Hendrickson Institute for Ethical Leadership at Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. He is a member of American Academy of Religion, the Catholic Theological Society of America, the College Theology Society, and the Society of Christian Ethics. He received the doctoral degree in moral theology from Marquette University.

Brother George Van Grieken, FSC, Ph.D.

Brother George Van Grieken, FSC, Ph.D., serves as Lasallian resources coordinator for Christian Brothers Conference, with much of his focus on the Lasallian Resource Center. He recently served for four years as Secretary of the Lasallian Research and Resources Service for the Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools, concluding his service in October 2023. Brother George holds a master’s in theology from Saint Mary’s College and a Ph.D. in religion and education from Boston College.

ISSN: 2151-2515
© Christian Brothers Conference 2023.