Luke Salm, FSC, STD


The purpose of this [brief essay] is to acquaint the reader with the seven institutions of higher education in the United States which are sponsored by the Brothers of the Christian Schools, more commonly known as the Christian Brothers. The six colleges and one university are as varied in their academic makeup as they are in their geographic locations scattered across the nation. However, they each share one most distinctive bond, the commitment to educational quality within the [De La Salle] Christian Brother tradition, a tradition now over 300 years old.


De La Salle; Lasallian; American Catholic Higher Education


The Brothers’ School: Six Characteristics

About the Author

Luke Salm, FSC, S.T.D.

Brother Luke Salm (1921-2009) was a professor of religious studies at Manhattan College for more than half a century. He was the first religious Brother and non-cleric to earn a doctorate in theology (S.T.D.) at The Catholic University of America (1955). He was an elected delegate of the District of New York to the 39th, 40th, 41st, and 42nd General Chapters of the Brothers of the Christian Schools; and he was a noted historian of the life of Saint John Baptist de La Salle.

ISSN: 2151-2515
© Christian Brothers Conference 2023.